New Board Members for EDMH

Edenhope & District Memorial Hospital recently appointed three new Board members Avril Hogan, Annette Jones and Jo Murdoch.

EDMH CEO Kevin Mills welcomes them to the Board of Directors “Though diverse in their skills, all have a great depth of experience in a variety of areas that will advance the hospital to deliver the best quality of care to the community.” 

Avril Hogan has over 15 years’ experience in market research consulting, business strategy, international marketing, and business ownership. Expertise in industries including Agriculture, Education, and Government Research Departments.

Avril was the runner up in the 2014 Rural Women of the Year, a part of this achievement she was able to participate in the Australian Institute of Company Directors course.

Currently Avril is the Marketing & Strategy Group Manager for Emmett’s group of companies.

Very active in her local community Avril has been a board member of the of Wimmera Centre for Participation, and the founding member of the 'Foreign Wives Club', a social group for women who move to a rural area to build connections and enhance the social fabric of the community.

Former Councillor and Mayor with West Wimmera Shire, Annette Jones is an experienced Board member. She has undertaken the Australian Institute of Company Directors Course.

Annette’s previous Board memberships include the Wimmera Development Association, North West Municipal Association and the Wimmera Regional Library Corporation. She has also served on the Edenhope College School Council. 

Annette has extensive advocacy experience and was appointed to a Mayoral advisory panel to provide legislative, regulatory & strategic input into a review of the Local Government Act, reporting directly to the Minister of Local Government. 

She has been a leader for cultural change in the women's health sector working as a Health Promotion Consultant to improve gender equity and reduce the incidence of violence against women in our region.

Annette is an experienced facilitator with a strong background in community development and is currently employed as a Victorian Local Landcare Facilitator. 

Jo Murdoch trained as an Occupational Therapist and worked at both Naracoorte District Hospital and the EDMH in this capacity.

 She spent 7 years working with people with an Intellectual Disability as a Client Support Worker in the Upper SE of South Australia.

Her experience in the Health Industry is also of a personal nature as both parents resided in the Aged Care Facility of EDMH and are recipients of My Aged Care Packages.

Currently, she works with her husband on their farm at Bringalbert South, volunteers as a committee member of the West Wimmera Groundwater Implementation Committee and as the secretary/treasurer of the Apsley Group of Rural Fire Brigades. 

The CEO and EDMH Board would like to invite the community along to meet the new and current board members at their next board meeting, Monday the 24th September, at 6:00pm at the Elsie Bennett centre.  

“We welcome people to come along and meet the new board members and observe the board meeting processes.” said Kevin Mills


The executive of the board for 2018/19 is:

Chairperson -  Tony Kealy 

Deputy Chairperson – David Kennedy

Audit & Compliance Chairperson – Chris McCann

Audit & Compliance Deputy Chairperson – Anne Osborne